Three Interesting Articles from iLoveTypography.com

51.jpg
I learned about iLoveTypography.com as few years ago. It is an awesome site. I recently went to the site and found three interesting articles I would like to talk about:
The first one I read about recently on this site is called “The First Roman Fonts” and it is about the history of Roman fonts and printers from way back when. I loved the article. It made me realize that the Jenson font is such an old font and one of the first Roman fonts yet it is still famous today. I learned about the Jenson font in school and many people still use it to this day. I also saw a font by Gunther Zainer’s with the weird letter H and so I wanted to learn more about this font and the weird pearl ornament on the H and I found an article on iLoveTypography.
The article I found is called “Unusual Fifteenth Century Fonts Part 2” and it talked about Gunther Zainer’s unusual font and that Gunther Zainer might have been inspired by past art works in making this font with the pearl ornament. He did not just come up with the pearl ornament in his fonts out of thin air. The article talked about past art works that contained what is called the “pearl decoration” of the letter H of Gunther Zainer’s font, which was seen on a 12th century manuscript. There were also Greek and Cyrillic manuscripts that had the pearl decorations. Recently, the font Nylon was created by Jonathan Barnbrook and that font is interesting and I would like to use it some day.
The third article I read is called Pure Gold. It was an interesting article about printing in gold, which is not prevalent here in the Philippines so I was intrigued. They used to print with gold using gold leaf and a powder adhesive. This type of printing had a beautiful effect on the book and illuminated the pages as you read it. The other way of course is to print using gold ink, which was made by combining flaked gold with gum Arabic. This was a very interesting article and someday I would like to print in gold.
iLoveTypography is a great site. I highly suggest reading some articles. You will find historical facts about typography, the newest fonts, printing techniques and much more.
Leave a Reply

