User Behavior Tracked on iTunes, Youtube, Facebook for Better User Experience

Businessman drawing a bulb on a virtual whiteboard. Metaphor for Ideas and Inspiration.

iTunes, Youtube, and Facebook track behavior so they can better suit your needs. I think this is very interesting and I first noticed it on iTunes. I used to buy iTunes songs and iTunes figured out the type of songs I liked and suggested songs for me to buy. At first I was skeptical and finally I decided to try to some of the songs by previewing them and they were good and so I bought them. This feature was responsible for me building a great iTunes library. The way iTunes did this was by tracking what I listened to and then tracking what other bought who bought the songs I listened to and then they would suggest that song to me.

Another on that I logged onto and that tracked my behavior was Youtube. I logged on and watched Migrationology videos, which are videos about food and then one day Youtube suggested Fung Bros and it was a great channel. It’s a food channel, but mostly Asian food and now Fung Bros has more videos besides food, but it was the food videos that Youtube suggested to me so I’ve watched almost all of the Fung Bros food videos. Now when I log onto my Youtube and Youtube suggests videos to me I watch them. Youtube tracked the videos I watched and then tracked what other people who watched the videos that I was watching were also watching. Youtube found that many Migrationology viewers watched Fung Bros videos and so Youtube figures I might like Fung Bros videos too.

The other one that suggested things to me was Facebook. Facebook likes to suggest pages for me to like and so I click on them and low and behold they are pages I am interested in. Some I’ve found are more advertisements of pages like I’m interested in teaching abroad and Facebook knows this about my posts of links about teaching abroad and so now Facebook suggests pages of companies that organize teaching abroad.

Check out my movie about iTunes, Youtube, and Facebook:

Leave a Reply

