Setting Blogging Goals

1.jpg

Setting goals for you blog is one of the most important things you can do to increase your blogging posts because you get ideas, but sometimes you forget and don’t do them anymore. I have been blogging on and off for years now and I’ve just gotten more into blogging again recently. The reason why is because my computer is freezing so much, I’m afraid it’s going to die soon and I want to get all of these wonderful blog posts ideas on my blog before I lose all of my photos.

My computer is a 2011 MacBook Pro model that was purchased in 2012. I did a Microsoft Word update and it started to freeze my computer so I did an overall system update and it’s freezing my computer even more. Also my computer gets hot and the fan does not turn on like it used to so I thought OMG! My computer is going to die soon and I’ll have to use the internet café computer and not have access to Photoshop so I better get all of these posts up and at least have my Photoshop portfolio.

The first goal I made for a portfolio piece blog post was create color splashed photo portfolio so I did some of those. Then I decided I needed a colorized photo portfolio so I asked Breanna if I could use her black and white photo to colorize so then that’s done. Then I decided to do a blog post about Starbucks and that’s done. Then I decided I needed to have some images up of the indigenous tribes JunJun and I visited and that’s done. Then I thought wow! I have to get a blog post up on my other blog DiligentTraveler.wordpress.com about kimonos and that’s finished.

What I noticed is that by writing down these blogging goals I got so much more done. I’ve had all these blogging ideas in the past, but I never got around to it so now I’ve decided whatever silly blogging idea I have I should write it down and set a goal to do it. Basically setting the goal made it set in stone and allowed me to better plan for the blog post. What I did was I thought of a blog post like a post about kimonos and then I wrote it down and then I would write down notes like first thing to do is color splash the kimono photos. Then I would work on the images in Photoshop and then the blog post was half way done. I just needed to write the post so I did and then there you have it. Blog post completed.

What I’ve also decided and this will not be for a few years is to set a goal to become a blogger expert. Yes, it’s a lofty goal, but I am going to try to post at least every week, get all sorts of how to blog notes up by analyzing my blog posts and then perhaps someday become a blogging teacher and also just create a really awesome blog. Now that’s been solidified and I’ve got a big overall goal.

As you can see goal setting is an important part of success to anything whether it be creating a blog, building a how to blog lesson plan, and creating a photo portfolio on a blog. Goal setting allows you to visualize, plan, and implement your plan. Goal setting is key to the success of your blog and just getting you going so when you’re done reading this, grab a notebook and start jotting your blogging goals. I hope this was helpful. Stay tuned for more blog posts on how to make your blog a success.

Below is a great site to go to for setting goals. I learned about this app when I was in grad school at Full Sail for Education Media Design and technology. It is a great tool to use check it out: Asana.com.

2.jpg

Leave a Reply

