Growing Up with My Ninang

Me in my favourite shirt with polka dots. It was for an event at Holy Child and it was especially designed for that Christmas event. After the event I wore it like everyday.

Me in my favourite shirt with polka dots my Ninang arranged to be tailored. Going to the seamstress with Ninang was one of my favourite Ninang and me times. The polka dotted shirt was for an event at Holy Child and it was especially designed for that Christmas event. After the event I wore it like everyday.

When I was young my mom went to America to work as a nurse so I grew up with my Ninang. She ended up taking care of me while she attended nursing school. She made sure to help me get ready for school and prepare my meals and take care of all sorts of errands. My little cousin, Ivy Marie also came to stay with us in Davao so later on my Ninang had to take care of two children. When I was ten I went to live with my mom in America. I am sad to say that I did lose contact with my family until my Ninang went to UK to work there.

I had lost contact with family for so long that having my Ninang around was the best. She doesn’t know it, but I have to say she brought my feet down to the ground and since that trip I decided to focus on my studies and make my family proud so now I have one undergrad degree, an associates degree, and two masters degrees. I was in UK for three weeks and Ninang and I went to Maidenhead to visit friends from Davao, ate lots of KFC and I had a great time. During that trip I bought the book the Life of Pi and that was a great book about Pi going on a journey. I would say both Ninang and oddly in some way the Life of Pi helped me decide to go on a journey to the Philippines once I gradated undergrad.

When I went home to the Philippines, in November 2005 I encountered more forgotten family members and even though they felt distant at first the Philippines felt like home. My Ninang was not in the Philippines during that trip so I was a bit said about that, but when I came back again in 2015 my Ninang was here in the Philippines and I finally got to meet her children. I would have to say Ninang has been in many ways a lifesaver for me. If she had not been around when I was growing up I don’t know how well I would have fared in San Miguel. If Ninang and I had not reconnected during the summer of 2002, I would have probably decided not to come back to the Philippines ever again. So anyways, I thought I would make a blog post for Ninang to say thanks!

Mom’s like where’s my blog post! Don’t worry mom you’re getting your own sweet blog post soon.

Leave a Reply

